Moral Dilemma 7

Joe is a fourteen-year-old boy who wanted to go to camp very much. His father promised him he could go if he saved up the money for it himself. So Joe worked hard at his paper route and saved up the forty dollars it cost to go to camp, and a little more besides. But just before camp was going to start, his father changed his mind. Some of his friends decided to go on a special fishing trip, and Joe’s father was short of the money it would cost. So he told Joe to give him the money he had saved from the paper route. Joe didn’t want to give up going to camp, so he thinks of refusing to give his father the money.

26 comments on “Moral Dilemma 7

  1. Zulmarie Clemente says:

    I would of told my father no because I worked hard for the money to go to camp. He told me I could go to camp if I came up with the money to go. I don’t think its far for him to ask for the money because he said I could go camping if I came up with the money which I did, so i should be able to use the money I earned to go to camp not to give it to him.

  2. joey says:

    I would give my father the money even though it is last minute, the camp will always open next year. Also waiting would give me time to save even more money, so now if i see something i like while i’m at the camp i could buy it and not be pressed for money.

  3. stephan dorcely says:

    I say he should just give the money to his father because after all its his father. If that was the case how many years has his father taken care of him. I think that by giving his father the money some time in the near future he will be greatly rewarded for giving his father the money.

  4. Jar Jar Bink says:

    I would have lent my dad the money because he might help me next time to go camping. As a smart person had once said ” No good deed goes unheard.” This means good karma is gonna come back and help. One of my friend once lent his lunch money to some one and at the end of the day he found 15 more dollars then he had given in the middle of the side walk.

  5. Nayiah B says:

    I think that Joe should refuse to giving his father the money because his father agreed and now all of sudden because of a fishing trip he changes his mind. If I saved my money I would go to camp because I would have been waiting to go for a long time and it would finally be time to go. My father would just have to accept it and move on.

  6. Will Spring says:

    Joe shouldn’t give his father the money so that he can go fishing. It’s not fair that his father made him work hard for his money and is now taking it away for himself. Joe should tell his father that he isn’t going to give him his money because he worked hard for it. He earned that money for his camping trip and since his father stopped him from going, he doesn’t have to give any of it to his dad.

  7. elisha Jones says:

    In my opinion I believe that Joe should refuse to give up his money. This fishing
    trip will not last as long as the camping trip will.If they choose to go fishing they will
    be spending bonding time with another family. The camping trip would be a better bonding experience for the only two of them.

  8. Zaniyyah grant says:

    In this situation if i were Joe i would not give my dad the money to go on his fishing trip, it was unfair for him to promise Joe if he saved up money he can go on the camping trip and to know change his mind and decide to use his sons money for a fishing trip no i would not let him have the money i saved if he knew how much i wanted to go to camp.

  9. Ashly Sosa says:

    Joe saved up for the camp trip so he should decide where he wants to go. His dad cant just change his mind. He should tell his father that he worked hard for this. His father should understand.

  10. Michael DeCastro says:

    In this dilemma I wouldn’t give my money that i work hard for because he promised that if i worked for it i could go to camp. If my father wants to keep his promise and be a good father he would let me go to camp and not ask me for money.

  11. I think that he should just give his father the money because he does not know the reason that the father need the money. what if the father need for something important like paying the electric bill or the gas bill those two thing are really important to the house.

    • john christopher blanc says:

      i think that he should give his father the money because that is his father. his father has always provided for him for his whole life.

  12. Nayara Goncalves says:

    I think he shouldn’t give him the money beacuse Joey did hard work for the money. So he should be able to go and use his own money. I would feel upset if i had to give money that i worked for to give it to someone else.

  13. Siara says:

    I think he should just give his father the money and ask him to pay him back whenever he gets a little extra money. So there wouldn’t be any problems between them.

  14. Nina G says:

    i wouldn’t give him the money if i was the son because the father should have money if anything, he should ask his friends. the son really wants to go to camp so he should and he also saved up worked hard so no he shouldnt give the money to his father .

  15. Mallory Orozco says:

    Joe shouldn’t give his dad the money because he worked very hard to save up for that money. His dad should have done the same if he really wanted to go to his fishing trip. Also if his friends are inviting him to go fishing he should ask them or anybody else that has 40 dollars to spare.

  16. Johnathan Johnson says:

    If i was joe i would give my father the money. Reason 1 for giving him the money is because where would joe be without his father. Also joes dad never denied him a money or food, a place to live, or clothes on her back. If my son denied me his money id be like, Its clobering time! Beat him then take his money. Maybe thats extreme but joe should give his father the money.

  17. Dave Manasse says:

    Yes he should give the money to hiss father. It’s his father his father ha been taking care of him since he was a baby to fourteen that;s more than 40 dollars it’s his dad he should obey him. that’s what he is suppose to do.

  18. steven says:

    no i wouldnt let him take my money that I work hard for and than let him take it away from me.

  19. Nakia St.Fleur says:

    I say she shouldn’t give him anything, because Joe worked hard for his money. Thats why he should go with his money.

  20. Naddie says:

    i think he shouldn’t give him the money but also he should help out his father to pay for the fishing trip

  21. Lawrence Abdul-Price says:

    i would give my father the money because he needs it and i respect him even though ive been saving this money for sometime but if his reason for wanting the money is not ligit in my eyes i would fade him and not give it to him

  22. Destiny says:

    i dont think he should give his father the money because he earned it himself, all by himself so why should he give HIS money away. what was his father doing when he was aking money?

  23. rachael says:

    i would of said no because he worked hard for the money for him to enjoy himself and his father wants to take the money so he could enjoy himself and the little boy told his father ahead of time

  24. Smooches says:

    I would give my father the money because that’s my father.

  25. denilson says:

    wouldn’t give my dad the money because my parents tend to take my money and never pay back.when i lend people money iwant my money back

Leave a Reply

